Skip to content

Nervous System and Sense Organs of Frog | Diagram

Nervous System of Frog

The nervous system of frog consists of three main parts:-

  1. The central nervous system
  2. The peripheral nervous system &
  3. The sympathetic nervous system.

The Central Nervous System

  • The central nervous system consists of the brain and spinal cord.

The Brain of Frog

nervous system of frog

      • The brain is lying inside the cranium of the skull and it is well protected there.
      • It is surrounded by two meninges. The outer one is called piamater and the inner one is called duramater.
      • The whole brain is differentiated into three parts. They are the prosencephalon (forebrain), mesencephalon (midbrain), and rhombencephalon (hindbrain).
      • The anteriormost part is called the prosencephalon which is subdivided into two parts and they are telencephalon and diencephalon.
      • The telencephalon comprises of a pair of small olfactory lobes and a pair of cerebrum or cerebral hemispheres. Olfactory lobes are responsible for the sense of smell.

Read the rest of the nervous system and sense organ of frog from here. Because the nervous system and sense organs of frog and toad is similar.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *